a little sun makes all the difference

>Sunshine today, it’s been rare for weeks and though I love the rain clouds and wind, I’ve needed to take a deep breath and stand up straight, stop hunching under the wet, simply to stop brooding.

Connected, my WIP, which has Sun in the title, is starting to come together.  I worked backward to figure out how the ending would be accomplished (there’s to be an ending!  happy day!) and characters are taking on depth.  Scenes are coming to their places – it’s not as simple as “dropping into place,” but they’re gaining form.  Finally, today it’s not looking like a worrisom prospect.  There’s a story!  This is a good realization for someone who’s not used to thinking in story so much as image and impression.  I’m still either missing a lot of scenes or I’ll need to flesh them out more than what the two practice runs have yielded, or my wordcount is going to be less-than-novel size.  But I aim to write within a week (that issue below be damned).

Posted on January 27, 2010, in GOTS and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

