writing between realms

>

Well, slowly and not so reliably I’ve been continuing work on G.O.T.S. (15% of a first projection of 30,000 words) – it came up in the writing workshop two weeks ago and though I didn’t work on it there, my sense was reaffirmed that I need to not deal with the concept of Finished Product so much as write the pieces as they need to be written and then allow them to come together at the right time. I’m liking this story even though I can’t foresee that it’s remotely marketable. My tendency is to put off writing until I have a chunk of time to sit and mull and write (semi-simultaneously). That ends up being rare because there’s always something more pressing to do it seems (even procrastination by web-research seems pressing even though I know it’s just a ridiculous mind trap)- and so the poor thing just hibernates. That might be cruelly ironic because there is one aspect of the story that has to do with symbolic hibernation.

One of the things I’m tangling with is how to weave the up-front telling of the story, the functioning essentials that look a lot like infrastructure (pipes and joints and beams and screws) with something much more ethereal. Truth is, there’s the story as it appears from outside my character’s experience, but there’s also something going on in and with her that will prove to be profound. It’s like a quality of light, how it feels to see it, or fragrant air and how it feels to breathe it. And without being heavy-handed, I need the infrastructure to carry that while showing that there are some characters who can only understand the physical reality and who expect that that is all there is. This is fantasy, but I don’t think this story is asking to start out in a fantasy world. So I’m at a place of crossing paths, coming in from one, introducing the other. That could also make this story difficult in that the first part sets the reader up for a specific take on reality, whereas the second part I’m just starting is created with different assumptions. We’ll see how skilled I can be at putting it all together. We’ll see if my evaluation here is too optimistic for what may just turn out to be something kind of normal.

As for revising Call the Rain Home, I’ve put that aside for now… not permanently, but I know that it requires a lot of attention that I’ve not had much of lately. It’s honestly rather a mess and will require a significant time investment to make it readable (not to mention coherent and enjoyable)… ouch…

But that’s where those two projects stand.

art by Stephani Pui-Mun Law whose work can be found both at Deviant Art and at her website Shadowscapes.  Santa brought Dreamscapes to us for Christmas…

Posted on March 25, 2010, in GOTS, How to Think Sideways and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

