lately’s lack of committment

>

So I have 5 days to decide if I feel confident enough to engage in this year’s NaNoWriMo.  Perhaps you aren’t familiar with the crazy things writers will do to push out yet another page, paragraph, or word, and National Novel Writing Month hasn’t crossed your path.  If that’s so, then you’ll be unknowing no longer.  NaNoWriMo is 30 days (always in November) of writing mania.  The goal is to write 50,000 words in those thirty days (averaging 1667 words per day).  There’s no stipulation on the quality of the writing, only that it be 50,000 words of an original novel-length work undertaken between November 1 and November 30.  The program website has tons of information – forums, worksheets, advice, pep-talks, and just all around good cheer.  In addition, there are regional write-ins and people buddying up to spur each other on with things like word wars (to determine who can write the most in a set amount of time) and plot/character/scene adoptions.

As I’ve mentioned before, I did NaNo in 2008 and ended up with a 112,000 word manuscript.  Owl, who was then in 7th grade wrote 80,000 and Kestral, a first grader, wrote 10,000.  I skipped it last year because we were moving and now I find November is again fast approaching.  And that means that I have an opportunity to kick procrastination and resistance out of the immediate vicinity and dive head first into a fit of mad typing that, on a good day, leaves my inner critic in the dust and puts me closer to a real, finished, story.

I’m hanging back only because I know the reality of daily life – but I’m also remembering that 1667 words (or thereabouts) only took about 1.5 hours a day when I did NaNo last time.

I think I’ll leave it to the last minute to decide – but meanwhile I’ve gotten my planning notes for G.O.T.S. out and have been thinking about how to jump-start my enthusiasm for the story (none of the work I’ve done for this story can be counted for the 50K, so I’ll be starting over, which also gives me an opportunity to re-think some of the story line).  I’ve been looking to see if there’s anyone I could buddy up with (as feeling like I’m doing everything alone is often a huge hurdle) and that may just tip the balance.

As of today it seems I might commit – but I’m even non-committal on the report of whether or not I’m committed….

such as it is, lately…

Posted on October 26, 2010, in GOTS, How to Think Sideways and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

